Thankful

Thanksgiving is this week which means we all should take some time to think about the good things in our lives. I know I have a lot to be thankful for this year! It is very important to reflect on the good things in our lives and everything we have to be thankful for to make sure that we keep perspective in our lives. This year I have been trying to be more conscious  and gracious of all of the good things that I have. I have a roof over my head, food in my stomach, clothing on my back, I am in good health, I am receiving a world-class education and I have people who love and support me. That is a lot to be thankful for! It’s easy to get stuck in the rat-race that is life and loose perspective on all the good things that you have going for you. That’s why I think it is so important to think about these things not just at Thanksgiving, but all year.

Whenever I am feeling overwhelmed by stress and down about life, I take a moment to think about everything I am fortunate enough to have. Once I realize all of that it makes me gain perspective on the issues that were weighing me down and acknowledge that everything will work out and my problems aren’t nearly as big as they feel like they are. It puts me in check with reality when I really need it.

One of my professors told me that there has been research done showing that people who take the time to write down 5 thing they are thankful for each night before they go to bed, in a gratitude journal, have an increase in happiness and contentment in their lives. Your happiness “set-point” gets increased dramatically by that simple act. If something as easy as that can give you a boost in your overall life, why wouldn’t you do it? It is my goal to try to get in the habit of doing that, and you all should try it too!

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Monday Art/Journal Prompt | lifeofdeb

Leave a Reply

