My ideal workspace

Because I want to do so many different things a work space that allows many different things to happen is what I will need in my future. A lot of the details of the space I end up needing will be determined by exactly where my future takes me, but what I picture right now as my dream space would look a bit like this.

I will need two spaces that ideally would be connected. I love the idea of working from home, but I also think it would be really nice to have some separation between work and home life. Instead I would want to find a work space that is very close to where I live and accessible to me whenever I want. The first space would be my studio where I would do a wide variety of things from sewing, to painting, and everything else in between. Since I hope to do event design work I could use this space to create “props’ such as centerpieces, or create any other aspect of the event that would need to be created here. I could also use the space to paint since that is one of my hobbies. This space would have to be multipurpose and have the ability to withstand a lot. I get very messy when I create so it would be nice to not have to worry about that in this space. It would probably look something like this haha:

It would be really nice to have it ventilated well so I wouldn’t have to worry about fumes or other things such as dust when I work since I never really know what I will end up working with. Maybe even a spray booth would be in the space just in case!

A sink would be a must also!

In my dream space I would have lots of windows to let in natural light. I would also have good overhead lighting so I could work in my studio into the late hours if I wanted to.

I love how this space has such a natural feel to it that makes the creating of artwork feel like the life in the room. It seems like a very freeing space where you aren’t worried about “messing up” anything and it is very functional. At the same time it has a very appealing industrial look to it.

This is a picture of the same space but a different area. In my studio space I would love a bunch of different work areas. A big table in the middle that is very durable (maybe butcher block so I could cut on it) would be a must, as well as a desk space to do other types of work would be very nice. I love how in this work space there is tons of inspiration everywhere. I am the type of person who likes to spread out when I work and a space like this looks like you can do just that.

In the second space I would need, I would create an office. This would hopefully be attached to my studio space and be in the front of the building and the first thing you see. The two spaces would be separate but connected by a door between the two spaces.  This space would be much different then the studio. It would be very organized and very streamlined. I would have this space be very nicely decorated and designed. With what I want to do with event design, creative consulting, and art direction type of things, I will be doing lots of desk work. Especially since I will most likely be running my own business! I will need to be able to think clearly and be productive in this space in a very different way than in my creating room. I would still want some inspiration on the walls like in this space. I also like the eclectic style since that is very reflective of who I am.

Organization will be key like I said. I love how this person used such great organization with the use of peg boards! This may not be in my office portion of the space but maybe the organized part of the chaos in the studio.

I love this space! I think making my office look professional would be very important since I would probably be meeting with clients in this space. I would want it to have personality but have lots of storage and be a functional space.

This is a little too cramped for me since I love to spread out when I do anything, but I love the style and the balance between creative inspiration and professional work space.

I am in love with the desk in this office! As well as the shabby chic design overall.

The overall theme I want in both my studio and my office space is personality. I hope to find a place that has some history and a “story” to it. I love old hardwood floors, big picture windows, and exposed brick. I want my space where I create and spend time in to be inspiring and a place I am comfortable in.

As to where this place is…. I can’t really tell you yet! I will probably end up in a bigger city somewhere since that makes the most sense for what I want to do! Possibly in LA, or San Francisco, or who knows where! 🙂

I can’t wait to call a space like this my own!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

