Do more of what makes you happy. Happiness = Success and Success vs. Happiness

I think that this is an incredibly important statement. Do more of what makes you happy. It is very simple but very powerful. Do what you love and what makes you happy and you will find so much success. I mean think about it, you are usually happy when you are doing things you are good at or are passionate about, and the only way to be successful at something is to have those things! So go out and do what makes you happy. Life is short. Too short to be unhappy.

This really hits home with me right now. I have always had a very supportive family and I know that its ok to do what I love and that that is more important than anything else in the world. I really appreciate that especially since I am pursuing a degree, and ultimately a career, in the arts and design world which is a  risky thing. When you are in this creative world you have to make up the rules and there is not really a clear cut path that guarantees success (especially monetary success). I am passionate about living a creative life and making art and design a huge part of it. I know that it makes me happy so why would I do anything else?

Even with having a typically supportive family there are still times where my parents don’t hold their tongues and let some of their criticisms  or “suggestions” come through. I found out this week that I have a couple options for how I want to go about the next few years of my life. I can either graduate early, or stay in school for the typical 4 years but obtain two degrees, one in Design Management and one in Art Studies. My parent’s naturally are trying to sway me toward graduating early. The idea of me being an art major is terrifying for them. They have the image in their heads of a starving artist who has a worthless degree. I hate that dang image. It causes me, and everyone else in the creative practices, to feel like they are at disadvantage. My dad suggested that if I choose to stay in school for the full 4 years that I look into pursuing a business degree as well. He means well but its hard to know that by saying that he is trying to get me to have a “real” plan and a back up to fall on. I know its important to be realistic but I could never settle and do something I don’t enjoy because its safe. I have come to realize that much of the near future in my life will have to be a time where I prove people wrong and make what I love work for me.

Do more of what you love. That is what it is all about, and I am going to do just that.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. A very nice message for us all, and very much appreciated! I often find myself wondering at times what life will be like for me when I graduate and I must say that it can be rather scary at times. It is good to know that we can all always fall back on something that we love and have a talent for, and to keep moving forward and improving ourselves as both artists and people. I also agree with having a life full of creativity. You go girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

