Nix Negativity

We talked about negativity in ARA 394  and I find it a very important topic. I constantly fight off negativity and it is important to me that I never come off as a negative nancy. There are many things you can do to ward off bad mojo and thoughts and to boost your confidence and I think its important to know.

Something that is huge in my life is that I am a bit of a control freak. I need to remember that I shouldn’t worry about things that I can’t personally change and that I need to let go a bit. The desire to change people is especially dangerous. It is also important to surround yourself only with positive people who will lift you up, not bring you down. Complainers and people who never have anything nice to say just add to your voice of judgement, which likes to put you down and keep you from your potential. If you find yourself having to deal with negative people in your life the best way to deal with them is to kill them with kindness. There is only so much positiveity a person can take and not drop the bad attitude. If you are a negative person you feed off of negativity, you feel bad for yourself and you want other people to feel bad too. If you can’t get that satisfaction then you will be forced to move on.

I struggle a lot with apologizing for myself and that is a big confidence killer. Ever since I was young I have been told that I say “I’m sorry” way too often. From my piano teacher in 2nd grade all the way to my friend’s today I have heard this. I don’t know where it comes from but it has always been a problem of mine. I am an extremely passionate person so I think that has a lot to do with it. But if it has something to do with negativity and shows a lack of confidence I definitely want to get rid of that habit! The only way I can think to do this is to start being aware of when I apologize and try to keep a tally of the amount I say it. Once I realize how much I do it, I can start to cut it out of my vernacular.

In class the idea of “fake it till you make it” was also talked about. If you act like you know what you are doing and you go for it you will figure it out. Self doubt kills potential and even if you are afraid you aren’t an expert or the best at what you need to do you have to fake it to make it. You will never get better if you don’t just do it. Be confident in your abilities to do what you do. Don’t ever discount yourself.

This post was a lot for me but I think just as important for everyone else out there. When you recognize sources of bad in your life it is easier to get rid of them!

Now go out and be positive, I know I will! 🙂

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

